Lake Champlain - Lake George Regional Planning Board
Contact UsAdmin

Federal Grant Programs

As the Designated Economic Development District for Clinton, Essex, Hamilton, Warren and Washington Counties, the Lake Champlain - Lake George Regional Planning Board provides assistance with grant writing and administration for various federal funding programs. 

Economic Development Administration 

Public Works and Economic Adjustment Assistance Program 

This program provides economically distressed communities and regions with grant funding up to $3,000,000 for planning and implementation projects that will lead to the creation and retention of jobs and spur private investment, advance innovation, enhance manufacturing, provide workforce development opportunities and attract foreign direct investment. Work in Opportunity Zones is of particular interest.

Applications are accepted on a rolling basis. You can get more information on the program on the EDA’s website.

USDA Rural Development 

Rural Business Development Grants 

This grant program is for technical assistance and training grants for small rural businesses. Eligible projects include business counseling and training, acquisition or development of land, capitalization of revolving loan funds, rural transportation improvements, technology-based economic development, feasibility studies, rural business incubators and long-term business strategic planning. Eligible applicants include towns, state agencies, authorities, non-profit corporations, institutes of higher education, federally-recognized tribes and rural cooperatives. 

There is no maximum funding amount and no cost-sharing requirements, however, small requests receive priority. 

Additional information on this program can be found at:

Community Facilities Loans and Grants

This program provides funding to develop essential community facilities in rural areas, including health care facilities, public facilities, community support systems, public safety systems, educational services, utility services and local food system services. These funds are provided in low interest loans, grants, or a combination of both. Eligible applicants include public bodies, community-based non-profit corporations and federally-recognized tribes. 

Additional information on this program can be found here.  

Northern Borders Regional Commission

The Northern Borders Regional Commission funding is a federal funding pool available to designated counties within Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont and New York. All five of LCLGRPB’s county’s are eligible for this funding. 

Economic & Infrastructure Development Investment Program

Funding is for infrastructure upgrades (including transportation, basic public and telecommunication); workforce education, entrepreneurship, and business development; basic health care and other public services to assist economically distressed areas; resource conservation, tourism, recreation, and preservation of open space; and development of renewable and alternative energy sources. All projects must relate to economic development. 

Grants are up to $1,000,000 for infrastructure and up to $350,000 for all other categories. 

The LCLGRPB is the designated Local Development District for this program, meaning that LCLGRPB manages the grant on behalf of the grantee. 

Regional Forest Economy Partnership Program 

The goal of this program is to fund large, regional projects that increase the region’s ability to attract new opportunities that leverage significant investments. Funding areas include new technologies and innovations that find new uses for forest products and evolve traditional forest economy business models, workforce retraining to build skilled workers for the forest product industry, and creation of new industries or expansion of current industries that provide economic growth opportunities in formerly forest industry-dependent communities.   

The maximum award amount is $1,000,000 with a minimum award amount of $250,000.

Additional information on both of these programs can be found at

> Clinton County
> Essex County
> Hamilton County
> Warren County
> Washington County